Use this collection of Getting Started docs to become acquainted with the different parts of RetentionEngine. This first article gives a brief introduction to how the core parts RetentionEngine work to save your customers. The following Getting Started articles dive a bit deeper into each part and how to quickly implement your cancel flow.
How It Works
Customers are redirected to RetentionEngine when they request to cancel their account, for example, by clicking the cancel button on your website. The customer experience can be thought of in the four parts.
The order is static. So, customers will always be shown the parts in that order, unless it is illogical to show the customer a particular part or they choose to not cancel and exit the RetentionEngine. More on customer states and restrictions for each part will be covered in the respective pages.
A customer is only shown one Cancel Resolution. Our algorithm will predict the best Cancel Resolution to show a customer based on customer properties and the customer's response to the Exit Survey. The four Cancel Resolution types are discount, relevant information, gift, and contact support.
- Relevant Information: This is a piece of information that you think would be helpful for your customers to know (e.g. "Did you know we have __ feature coming out next month?"). You can optionally include a link if you think it will be helpful to convince your customers to stay.
- Discount: This is either a flat rate or a percentage discount that gets applied to your customer's next bill. Depending on your billing integration, you may have access to only the flat rate or percentage discount.
- Contact Support: This will show your customer either a phone number or email address that they can contact in order to have an issue resolved.
- Gift: This offer will allow the customer to select whether they want a gift. If the customer selects the gift, you will be notified via email to fulfill the request.
This part of the RetentionEngine is the most complex. So, we have created a complete series to talk about Cancel Resolutions.
We currently support 1-month, 2-month and 3-month pause options. You can choose which pause options to activate. All active pauses will be shown to the customer on the same screen. If a customer selects one of these options, we change the next charge date for the upcoming order.
The default for this screen simply says “Are you sure you’re ready to say goodbye?”, but this can be edited. The customer can either select “Continue to cancel” or “Go back”. If the customer selects "Continue to cancel", their account will be canceled.
Keep track of why customers are leaving and what resolutions are effective at retaining them.
Coming soon - filtering by customer segments.
For more details on the analytics in RetentionEngine, click here.